For some months now, WhatsApp has been working on new security measures to make users feel safer within the app. Over the weeks we have told you a little about these functions, but a few hours ago Mark Zuckerberg himself confirmed them.
Through Facebook, Zuckerberg confirmed at least 3 functions that will arrive within the next month to all WhatsApp users: the possibility of leaving group chats without notifying everyone, controlling who can see when you are online and avoiding screenshots in single-view messages.
Below you can see how each feature will work. First, only the administrators of the group will be notified when you leave a group, and this is how the notification will mention it to you. Then, an option will appear in the privacy menu where you can modify if you want no one, everyone, only your contacts or only some contacts to see when you are online. Finally, for single-view photographs, there is now a lock that prevents the receiver from taking a screenshot of them.
Apparently, some of these features have already started to be available to some Beta users, so it is very possible that they will definitely arrive for everyone this month. As WhatsApp Communities get closer and closer to being launched worldwide, it is clear that the company has to take the issue of the security and privacy of its users much more seriously, especially if it is going to give them the opportunity to be with hundreds of people in the same place.